ScholarshipsAustralia ScholarshipsBachelorMastersOceania ScholarshipsPhDPostgraduateUndergraduate

International Australia Awards Scholarships 2020

Australia Awards Scholarships offer opportunities for international candidates from developing nations, particularly those nations located in the Indo-Pacific area, to commence full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at partaking universities in Australia and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Host Institution(s):

Any of the Participating Australian Institutions

Level/Field(s) of study:

Undergraduate or Postgraduate Programs that are associated to your nation’s priority areas for development which are specified on the participating nation profiles.

Australia Awards are not obtainable for training in fields related to piloting aircraft, nuclear technology, or military exercise.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:

Nationals of one of the participating nations in Africa, Asia, the Pacific, and the Middle East. See the complete list of participating countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

The scholarship benefits generally include full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, etc. See the complete list of benefits at the official website.

The scholarship awards are provided for the minimum period required for the candidate to finish the academic program stated by the Australian higher education institution, comprising any preparatory training.

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other scholarships here

Eligibility for International Australia Awards Scholarships

To be qualified to obtain a Scholarship award, candidates must:

  1. be a minimum of 18 years of age on 1 February of the year of commencing the scholarship;
  2. be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;
  3. not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  4. not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilization phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);
  5. not be current serving military personnel;
  6. not have in the past obtained a long-term Australia Award unless they have lived outside of Australia for twice the duration of the total time that they were in Australia (for instance, a former recipient who has been a beneficiary of Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be qualified to put in for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have lived outside Australia for at least eight years);
  7. have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having  functioned for a certain number of years in an applicable sector);
  8. be able to fulfill the admission prerequisites of the institution at which the scholarship award is to be accepted (this may mean that Program Areas will be required to take away an award offer if the beneficiary cannot satisfy the institution’s admission prerequisite);
  9. be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. This may mean that the Program Area will be required to retract a scholarship award offer if the beneficiary cannot fulfill the visa requirements;
  10. Not be putting in for a scholarship award for a program of study at an academic level lower than they have already attained (e.g. be applying for a Master’s scholarship award when they already possess a Ph.D.); and
  11. Candidates have to notify the Program Area of any link or relationship to personnel working at Program Areas (as well as locally engaged personnel at the post) or with managing contractors so that the submitted application may be appropriately and transparently handled.

Go through the detailed eligibility conditions in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Not interested in this particular scholarship? See other scholarships here

How to Apply for International Australia Awards Scholarships

Check the open and close dates for your country, and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas, and how to apply. The deadline varies per country. The deadline for most countries is 30 June 2020.

It is vital to peruse the how to apply page and go to the country-specific pages, and the official website (link provided below) for comprehensive and updated info on how to apply for this scholarship award.

Official Scholarship Website

Application Deadline

Applications are extended to 30 June 2020.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button